Running Dinver using Vs refraction traveltime data

This forum is dedicated to discuss all problems and suggestions related to the inversion software
WStephenson

Running Dinver using Vs refraction traveltime data

Postby WStephenson » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:43 pm

I am new to Dinver, but my understanding is that it can be used to jointly model dispersion data and Vs refraction traveltime data at a site? Thus far I have successfully run modeling on dispersion data and been able to extract selected models from the .report file. However when I try to add Vs refraction picks and run the modeling I get the error "segmentation fault" and the software dies. I suspect that I am not setting some parameter properly, but am not sure what that would be.

Couple of observations thus far:
1) when I load the Vs picks the "Load Curves" box asks for time in seconds, but when displayed in the "Targets" window spreadsheet time is labeled in milliseconds (while the units on the associated distance-time plot look correct). What units should the data values be in to import these data?
2) I have tried changing the parameter "pitch" but that has not helped, nor has changing the top layer to a linear gradient.
3) I get a segmentation fault when trying to run Dinver with only Vs refraction data as well.
4) I am setting neither a standard deviation nor a weight when importing these data. Should I be?
I am running Dinver on a Linux system with RHEL 5
All help is greatly appreciated,
Bill

admin
Site Admin

Re: Running Dinver using Vs refraction traveltime data

Postby admin » Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:32 pm

Dear Bill,
Time has passed since I did not play with this part. I'll try to provide you an answer next week.

WStephenson

Postby WStephenson » Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:13 pm

Hi again,
I am still looking for a workaround for this "segmentation" problem, and with the holiday season
coming to a close I hope to get back to it. Have you had a chance to look into this problem?