Hidden time windows H/V

This forum is dedicated to discuss all problems and suggestions related to the use of geopsy database and its plugins (array processing, H/V,...).
Post Reply
Federica
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:46 am

Hidden time windows H/V

Post by Federica »

Hi, I got a problem during windowing on H/V processing that worked fine till last week on the 3.2.2 version showing correctly all the windows over the graphs.
Then something happened and I couldn't see any windows even if the program counts them on the windows counter. So I installed an older release (3.2.1) and then again 3.2.2 without success. Today I have installed an old 2.10.1 release and finally it works. Now I tryed again 3.2.2 and started to working again but this let me confused.
Does anybody had this problem in the past? What could be the cause?
Thanks

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 446
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:48 am
Location: ISTerre
Contact:

Re: Hidden time windows H/V

Post by admin »

Hi Frederica,

If the toolbox shows a correct number of time windows but if they are not appearing on the signal display there might be several reasons:
  • A common mistake (which does not alter the final results) is to start the H/V tools from a table or another viewer like map or chronogram. To view the time windows, either drag signals directly to H/V tool button or create a graphic viewer and click on H/V tool.
  • From 3.0.0 release, internal time is absolute. There is an option to display time scale relative to the beginning of each signal but it is not fully debugged and there may be some unexpected behaviours. In layer properties of the graphic viewer make sure that "Time scale" is set to "Absolute time".
  • Opacity of Time Window layer is set to 0. See in properties, under "Graphic", in "Layer stack"
  • For now, I can't see another reason,... but there may certainly have others.
Note that switching between several versions, especially old ones, may lead to unexpected crashes or errors due to plugins. In case of repetitive crashes upon geopsy startup, open a terminal and run

Code: Select all

/Your/path/to/geopsy -clear-tools

TerraAu
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2020 1:17 am

Re: Hidden time windows H/V

Post by TerraAu »

Hi Frederica and Admin,
This is the same question as I posted on June 3, 2020.
The time windows sometimes appear and other times not. It could be something to do with the data file. The data files I tried are all collected in the same way at the similar place on the same day. It worked on some files and not on others.
I tried all the procedures admin suggested. The parameters were OK. But it does not work on certain files.

Any suggestions?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 446
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:48 am
Location: ISTerre
Contact:

Re: Hidden time windows H/V

Post by admin »

Whenever you get this problem, try to send me a file example.
Next release 3.3.0 will be out soon. The H/V tools has been re-written and probably hidden time windows may be solved.

Post Reply